The Feasts of God in Zion

Seeking God’s Protection in Zion

Nowadays, there are many different news stories about numerous unfortunate events happening around the world. Violent crimes, acts of war, and even natural disasters, such as earthquakes and hurricanes, are occurring unexpectedly more often. Though there are some precautions we can take to protect our loved ones—and ourselves—by our own power, we can never be fully protected from such harmful events. That is why through the Bible, God has given us instructions on where to go to receive God’s protection in times of trouble.

“Announce in Judah and proclaim in Jerusalem and say: ‘Sound the trumpet throughout the land!’ Cry aloud and say: ‘Gather together! Let us flee to the fortified cities!’ Raise the signal to go to Zion! Flee for safety without delay! For I am bringing disaster from the north, even terrible destruction.”
Jeremiah 4:5-6

Through the prophet Jeremiah, God has directed His people to flee to Zion, the fortified city, to be safe from destruction. But this teaching of God did not only apply during Jeremiah’s time, it also applies now, in modern times. However, without knowing where Zion is, it is impossible for God’s people to flee there for refuge.

Look upon Zion, the city of our festivals; your eyes will see Jerusalem, a peaceful abode, a tent that will not be moved; its stakes will never be pulled up, nor any of its ropes broken. No galley with oars will ride them, no mighty ship will sail them. For the LORD is our judge, the LORD is our lawgiver, the LORD is our king, it is he who will save us.
Isaiah 33:20-22

What Is Zion?

Zion is the place of safety for God’s people, but what exactly makes up Zion? As seen in the book of Isaiah, Zion is the place where God’s appointed festivals or feasts are kept. What are the feasts of God?

“Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘These are my appointed feasts, the appointed feasts of the LORD, which you are to proclaim as sacred assemblies…”
Leviticus 23:2

In the book of Leviticus, God named and gave instructions for His people to observe seven annual feasts, as well as the weekly feast of the Sabbath. The seven annual feasts of God, which God’s people are to keep holy, are:

  • Passover
  • Unleavened Bread
  • Firstfruits (Resurrection Day)
  • Feast of Weeks (Pentecost)
  • Feast of Trumpets
  • Day of Atonement
  • Feast of Tabernacles

These are the feasts that Jesus Christ and the Early Church kept, serving as an example for us to follow (Mt 26:17, Lk 22:7-8, Jn 7:37, Acts 2:1-4).

Zion and the Feasts of God

It may seem as if Jesus and the Early Church members kept the feasts following the Jewish law, or according to the old covenant way. But Jesus established the feasts of the New Covenant and celebrated them in a slightly different way.

In the Old Testament times, Jerusalem temple (also called Zion) was the only location where the feasts of God (of the old covenant) were kept. In the New Testament, however, Zion is the church that keeps the feasts of the New Covenant that Jesus established.

Those who keep the New Covenant feasts of God are the most blessed people. They are the people who have sought and found God’s salvation in Zion. That is why the New Testament describes Zion as follows: 

But you have come to Mount Zion, to the heavenly Jerusalem, the city of the living God. You have come to thousands upon thousands of angels in joyful assembly, to the church of the firstborn, whose names are written in heaven.
Hebrews 12:22-23

Mount Zion, the place we are to flee to for God’s protection in the last days, is the church where the feasts of God are kept. The World Mission Society Church of God keeps all seven feasts of God just as Jesus Christ did, as well as the weekly feast of the Sabbath. Visit your local Church of God and learn more in detail about Zion and the feasts of God.